Give Now  »

Indiana Public Media | WFIU Public Radio - NPR | WTIU Public Television - PBS

WFIU-WTIU News, IPB News earn three Regional Murrow Awards

Regional Murrow Awards 2022

WFIU-WTIU News and Indiana Public Broadcasting News (IPB News) earned three Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA).

WFIU-WTIU News won two Regional Murrow Awards for best news website and best hard news for a story on Delta 8 THC in Indiana.

IPB News received one Regional Murrow for best news series for its Hoosier Workers series. IPB News is a collaboration of the state’s nine public media newsrooms and a shared statewide team, which includes journalists from the WFIU-WTIU newsroom.

The RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism.

Nearly 750 Regional Murrow Awards were given this year to more than 325 small and large radio, television, and digital outlets in 14 geographic regions. WFIU-WTIU News and IPB News competed in the small market radio and television division against newsrooms in the region comprising Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, and Ohio.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition. National Murrow Award winners will be honored on October 10 during a ceremony at Gotham Hall in New York City.

Previously this year, WFIU and WTIU received 19 awards from the Indiana Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, three Communicator Awards, and 16 Telly Awards. With the latest Regional Murrows, the stations have earned a total of 41 awards so far this year. WTIU is also nominated for 18 NATAS Central Great Lakes Emmys. The Emmy winners will be announced on June 25.