Give Now

Profiles Interviews

Nobel Laureate Elinor Ostrom

IU faculty member Elinor Ostrom is the first woman to win the Nobel prize in the category of economics. Bloomington Provost and Executive VP Karen Hanson hosts.

Elinor Ostrom in her office

Photo: Ric Cradick

Elinor Ostrom

We have eliminated a lot of local governance in the United States—then complain when people don’t know how to engage in a serious, long-standing debate.

Elinor Ostrom is distinguished professor and Arthur F. Bentley Professor of Political Science in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington, a professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at IUB, and senior research director of the Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis at IU, which she and Vincent Ostrom founded in 1973-74.

Ostrom was awarded the 2009 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, which she shared with Oliver E. Williamson, for her analysis of economic governance of the commons.

She is the author of numerous books and articles, including Governing the Commons and Understanding Institutional Diversity.

What is RSS? RSS makes it possible to subscribe to a website's updates instead of visiting it by delivering new posts to your RSS reader automatically. Choose to receive some or all of the updates from Profiles:

Support For Indiana Public Media Comes From

About Profiles

Search Profiles