Give Now  »

Indiana Public Media | WFIU Public Radio - NPR | WTIU Public Television - PBS

WFIU-WTIU News Wins Three Regional Murrow Awards


The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced today that the WFIU-WTIU News team earned three Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards.

Selected from a record of more than five thousand entries, WFIU-WTIU News received Regional Murrow Awards for Sports Reporting (Indy 500 Milk Tradition: What's Inside That Glass Bottle?), Social Media, and Continuing Coverage (Freedom Of Speech And White Supremacy At The Farmers' Market).

The RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism.

Over 750 Regional Murrow Awards were given this year to more than 350 small and large radio, television, and digital outlets in 14 geographic regions. WFIU-WTIU News competed in the small market radio division against newsrooms in the region comprising Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, and Ohio.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition. National Murrow Award winners will be honored on October 12 during a ceremony at Gotham Hall in New York City.