Give Now  »

About Support

WFIU-WTIU Community Advisory Board Meeting

In the Kelley Dining Room, DeVault Alumni Center, and via Zoom

Thursday, May 4, 2023, 12:00 p.m.

Brent Molnar calls the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

Welcome & Introductions

Roll Call
Attending: Sharon Sung Andrews, Michele Bergonzi, Tom Bunger, Joan Curts, Pamela Davidson, Lauren Dexter-Burns, Mark Edwards, Sally Gaskill, Samantha Johnson-Helms, Martha Nice, Lynn Schwartzberg, Judy Stewart, Nathan Watson. Staff: Laura Baich, John Bailey, Eoban Binder, Eric Bolstridge, Brad Kimmel, Brent Molnar, Amy O’Shaughnessy, Kevon Wilson, Sara Wittmeyer, Marianne Woodruff.
Karen Gahl-Mills, Abby Henkel, Cullen McCarty, Adrian Starnes.

Approval of February minutes

Content Group: Meet the Director
Eric Bolstridge, new RTVS Director of Content, outlines a data-driven, mission-centered vision for non-news content: value first, audience second, platform third.

Public Comment
No members of public are present to comment.

CAB Bylaws Update      
John Bailey suggests an amendment to the bylaws that allows for three three-year terms and then, following a break of one year, the option of two more three-year terms. Sally Gaskill moves to approve; Judy Stewart seconds. CAB votes in favor.  

CAB Working Groups and Assignments
Brent Molnar offers an overview of the work done since February by the CAB working groups: members of the Advocacy group joined an IPBS contingent at Capitol Hill Day in late February, when public broadcasting leaders and lay leaders met with members of Congress to remind them of the value of federal funding for public media.     

Development Update
Amy O’Shaughnessy thanks the newly combined CAB for participating in a match during the March on-air campaign; shares that the stations are near the target goal of $2 million in fundraising for Fiscal Year 2023; announces that RTVS has landed a grant that will fund a higher education reporter.

1:15 p.m.