Education, From The Capitol To The Classroom

State Superintendent-Elect McCormick Announces Transition Team

Jennifer McCormick speaks with the press on Nov. 8, 2016. (Eric Weddle/WFYI)

Jennifer McCormick speaks with the press on Nov. 8, after she defeated current State Superintendent Glenda Ritz. (photo credit: Eric Weddle/WFYI)

State superintendent-elect Jennifer McCormick announced her transition team Friday. The 17-person team will help McCormick is hiring her cabinet at the Department of Education and preparing her new administration. She takes office Jan. 9.

The transition team consists of many public school principals, superintendents and leaders in higher education.

“I am excited and honored to work with such a dynamic and diverse group,” McCormick said in a statement. “The team’s commitment to Hoosier students will drive critical decision-making which will ultimately impact Indiana’s education system and ensure Indiana has one of the best Departments of Education in the nation.”

Here is the full list of McCormick’s transition team:

Dr. Brad Balch – Professor and Dean Emeritus, Indiana State University, Department of Educational Leadership

Dr. Todd Bess – Executive Director, Indiana Association of School Principals

Mr. Wes Bruce – Education and Assessment Consultant

Dr. Jeff Butts – President-Elect, Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents

Rep. Tony Cook – Republican, Cicero

Mr. Denny Costerison – Executive Director, Indiana Association of School Business Officials

Dr. Scot Croner – Superintendent, Blackford County Schools

Mr. Steve Edwards (Transition Team Chair) – Retired Superintendent and Education Consultant, Administrator Assistance

Dr. Nancy Holsapple – Executive Director, Old National Trail Special Services Inter-Local

Mr. David Holt – Chief Financial Officer, MSD Warren Township

Dr. Lee Ann Kwiatkowski – Member, State Board of Education

Mr. Micah Maxwell – Executive Director, Boys & Girls Club of Muncie

Dr. Hardy Murphy – Executive Director, Indiana Urban Schools Association and Clinical Professor of Education, IUPUI, IU School of Education

Mrs. Kathryn Raasch – Principal, Wayne Township Preschool

Mr. Terry Spradlin – Director of Community and Governmental Relations, Education Networks of America

Mrs. Lisa Tanselle – General Counsel, Indiana School Boards Association

Mrs. Kelly Wittman – Executive Principal, Max S. Hayes Career & Technical High School of MSD Cleveland


About StateImpact

StateImpact seeks to inform and engage local communities with broadcast and online news focused on how state government decisions affect your lives.
Learn More »