Give Now  »

Noon Edition

NEA Announces Jazz Masters For 2010

The National Endowment for the Arts just announced their 2010 Jazz Masters recipients-and it's an impressive list. Making the cut this year are:

  • Muhal Richard Abrams
  • Kenny Barron
  • Bill Holman
  • Bobby Hutcherson
  • Yusef Lateef
  • Annie Ross
  • Cedar Walton
  • ...and last but certainly not least, producer, manager, and critic George Avakian will receive the 2010 A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy.

Can't argue with a single name on that roster. It's particularly satisfying to see Abrams and Holman getting this recognition.

External Links

  • Jazz researcher Mike Fitzgerald says this year's number of award winners is the highest ever.

Support For Indiana Public Media Comes From

About Night Lights