Give Now

Delays, Closings and Severe Weather - View All Alerts and Updates

New Mayors In Kokomo, Terre Haute

Results are in from Tuesday’s municipal elections across the WFIU listening area.

In Bloomington, Mayor Mark Kruzan defeated incumbent David Sabbagh with 61 percent of the vote. In Kokomo, city councilman Greg Goodnight defeated opponent Rick Hamilton in the mayor’s race. Goodnight won 65.9 percent of the vote, and will replace current Mayor Matt McKillip in January. J. Michael Kennedy, Kevin R. Summers, and Mike Karickhoff won the three city council at-large seats. City council seats one through six were unopposed. Roughly 31 percent of registered Kokomo voters participated in Tuesday’s election.

In Columbus, Mayor Fred Armstrong secured a fourth term in office. Armstrong won 75.9 percent of the votes over challenger Mark White. He has stated this fourth term as mayor will be his last. Priscilla Scalf won the city council district one race over Sue Chapple with 54.8 percent of the vote, while incumbents Jesse Brand and George Dutro were re-elected for the two at-large seats. The races for clerk treasurer and city council districts two through five were uncontested. Just under 22 percent of registered voters in Bartholomew County participated in the municipal election Tuesday. In Terre Haute, challenger Duke Bennett bested incumbent Kevin Burke by a thin margin.

Want to contact your legislators about an issue that matters to you? Find out how to contact your senators and member of Congress here.

What is RSS? RSS makes it possible to subscribe to a website's updates instead of visiting it by delivering new posts to your RSS reader automatically. Choose to receive some or all of the updates from Indiana Public Media News:

Support For Indiana Public Media Comes From