Give Now

Many Legislative Candidates Facing No November Opponent Yet

Indiana House Seal

Photo: Dan Goldblatt/WFIU News)

Several lawmakers seeking to represent redrawn districts are without challengers.

Next year‘s legislature will have plenty of new faces — and last week‘s primary has likely already determined six of them.

Four Republicans and two Democrats who won primaries for Indiana House seats emerged to find no opposition-party candidates waiting for them. If the parties don‘t line up candidates by June 30, those primary victors will be assured of victory.

41 incumbent legislators are also unopposed for now: 11 in the Senate and 30 in the House, including Speaker Brian Bosma and Minority Leader Patrick Bauer.

The four uncontested freshman Republicans-to-be are in newly-created GOP-leaning districts: Steve Braun in Zionsville, Todd Huston in Fishers, John L. Price in Greenwood and Tim Harman in Bremen.

The two Democrats are replacing the House‘s least senior member and one of its longest-serving members. Former Muncie Senator Sue Errington is unopposed after winning a primary to replace Representative Mike White, who won a caucus for a vacant House seat in January and didn‘t seek a full term.

And Robin Shackleford had the easiest path to victory of all. Not only has no Republican filed for the seat of retiring 40-year Indianapolis Representative William Crawford — Shackleford was unopposed in the Democratic primary as well.

Want to contact your legislators about an issue that matters to you? Find out how to contact your senators and member of Congress here.