Give Now

IU Trustees Approve Journalism, Telecommunications Merger


Photo: Bill Shaw/WTIU News

IU Executive Vice President Lauren Robel proposed the merger earlier this year.

The Indiana University Board of Trustees has approved the formation of a new media school that will combine the university’s school of journalism and departments of telecommunications and communication and culture.

IU President Michael McRobbie made the recommendation to establish the new school at the IU trustees’ board meeting today.

“The innovative new IU Media School will ensure that IU is at the forefront of teaching, research and service about the understanding and production of media as it continues its dramatic evolution and transformation,” McRobbie said.

IU Executive Vice President and Provost of the IU Bloomington campus Lauren Robel proposed the merger earlier this year.  She says the new school will capitalize on the university’s strengths while adding flexibility for students.

“This new school will have a transformative effect on the study and practice of media at Indiana University, providing our students with access to the very best teaching and learning resources in all aspects of modern-era communications, including news reporting, digital and interactive media, public relations and film studies,” Robel said in a statement.

But several faculty have expressed opposition to the plan, expressing concerns that the School of Journalism will lose its autonomy.

The IU Media School will open on July 1, 2014 and be housed in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington.

Prior to the spring of 2016, the Media School is expected to move into Franklin Hall, which is currently used as an administrative building.

Lesa Hatley Major, interim dean of the School of Journalism, will serve as associate dean of the new school. She has been serving in her current role at the School of Journalism since July.  The search for a dean for the school has not begun.

Want to contact your legislators about an issue that matters to you? Find out how to contact your senators and member of Congress here.