Give Now

Delays, Closings and Severe Weather - View All Alerts and Updates

IU First Lady Dedicates Women’s Conference To Elinor Ostrom

Elinor Ostrom received the 2009 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences.

The Indiana University first lady dedicated the Indiana Governor’s Conference for Women today to the late Elinor Ostrom, who was an Indiana University professor and the first woman to win the Nobel Prize in economics.

The day-long conference aims to connect women and empower them toward achieving their career and business goals.

During her speech, Laurie Burns McRobbie said Ostrom was an example of women’s leadership.

“She believed in the power of one to make a difference, and she believed that the important issues of the day must be tackled by women, and men, of integrity, strength of mind and faith in others to join and work together,” McRobbie said.

Ostrom, who died last year, was senior research director of the Vincent and Elinor Ostrom Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis, Distinguished Professor and Arthur F. Bentley Professor of Political Science in the College of Arts and Sciences, and professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs.

In 2009, Ostrom received the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences for her research on the ways that people organize themselves to manage resources. She was the first and to date the only woman to be awarded the economics prize.

McRobbie was one of several speakers at the women’s conference. Others included television personality Martha Stewart, former Undersecretary of State Charlotte Beers, and Debra Mesch, director of the Women’s Philanthropy Institute at the Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy.

Want to contact your legislators about an issue that matters to you? Find out how to contact your senators and member of Congress here.

What is RSS? RSS makes it possible to subscribe to a website's updates instead of visiting it by delivering new posts to your RSS reader automatically. Choose to receive some or all of the updates from Indiana Public Media News:

Support For Indiana Public Media Comes From