Give Now

Group Launches Anti-Bullying Campaign In Indiana

One in four children are victims of bullying in school.

The Social Health Association of Indiana is launching a new initiative aimed at reducing bullying in Indiana.

The “Step Up For Kindness” initiative is being implemented in central Indiana, funded by a $100,000 grant from Impact 100.

The program will provide four hours of bully-free education to 30,800 kids, kindergarten through 8th grade. The curriculum teaches kindness, empathy, good character, being an up-stander and helping someone if you see someone being bullied.

“If you’re a bully, you are 400 percent more likely to have a criminal record as an adult. It’s very significantly tied,” Social Health Association of Indiana CEO Tonja Eagan says. “So we want to identify that early on and say, ‘we need to help this person now so they can evolve to be a productive citizen.'”

The grant will pay for the program for two years. During that time an independent third party will be studying the effectiveness of the program.

If effective, the program could be expanded throughout the state.

The following schools and youth programs are participating in the initiative:

Anderson Community Schools
Attica Consolidated Schools
Beech Grove City Schools
CA Beard Memorial School Corp
Carmel Clay Schools
Christel House Academy
Danville Community School Corp
Eastern Hancock Schools
Emma Donnan Middle School
Greenfield-Central Community School Corp
Hamilton Southeastern Schools
Holy Cross Lutheran School
Indiana School for the Deaf
International School of Indiana
Indianapolis Public Schools
Jennings County Schools
Logansport Community School Corp
MSD Decatur Township
MSD Perry Township
MSD Warren Township
MSD Washington Township
Milan Community School Corp
Mooresville Consolidated School Corp
Mount Vernon School Corp
Noblesville School Corp
North West Hendricks School Corp
Saint Charles Borromeo Catholic School
Saint Joseph Catholic School
School City of Hobart
Shelbyville Central Schools
South Madison Community School Corp
Southeast Fountain School Corp
Sunman-Dearborn Community Schools
Trinity Lutheran School
West Central School Corp
Western Boone County Community Schools
Westfield Washington Schools
Yorktown Community Schools
Zionsville Community Schools
At Your School (AYS), various locations
Christamore House
Community Alliance of the Far East Side (CAFÉ)
Forest Manor Multi-Service Center
Hawthorne Community Center
Happy Hollow Children’s Camp
Boys and Girls Clubs – Keenan-Stahl, Lilly, Wheeler-Dowe
MLK Community Center
Mary Rigg Neighborood Center
Southeast Community Services

Want to contact your legislators about an issue that matters to you? Find out how to contact your senators and member of Congress here.

What is RSS? RSS makes it possible to subscribe to a website's updates instead of visiting it by delivering new posts to your RSS reader automatically. Choose to receive some or all of the updates from Indiana Public Media News:

Support For Indiana Public Media Comes From