Give Now

Delays, Closings and Severe Weather - View All Alerts and Updates

Three Finalists Chosen For Supreme Court Opening

The three finalists for Indiana's open Supreme Court seat, from left: Christopher Goff, Vicki Carmichael, Michael Kincaid.

The Judicial Nominating Commission announced the finalists Gov. Eric Holcomb will choose from to become Indiana’s 110th Supreme Court Justice.

After about seven hours of deliberations – on the heels of two days interviewing the 11 semi-finalists – the commission announced the three finalists: Clark County Judge Vicki Carmichael, Wabash County Judge Christopher Goff, and Boone County Judge Michael Kincaid.

Chief Justice Loretta Rush, who chairs the Judicial Nominating Commission, says the final decision was a difficult one. And she says the factors that went into choosing the three finalists vary widely.

“It could be their legal acumen; it could also be their level of civility and collegiality. It could be how they further the reputation of the Indiana Supreme Court,” Rush says.

The finalists are vying to replace retiring Justice Robert Rucker, who steps down after 26 years on the bench.

Holcomb will have about 60 days to name his choice.

Want to contact your legislators about an issue that matters to you? Find out how to contact your senators and member of Congress here.

What is RSS? RSS makes it possible to subscribe to a website's updates instead of visiting it by delivering new posts to your RSS reader automatically. Choose to receive some or all of the updates from Indiana Public Media News:

Support For Indiana Public Media Comes From