Give Now

Delays, Closings and Severe Weather - View All Alerts and Updates

9 More Counties Qualify For FEMA Winter Storm Aid

snow on cars

Photo: Steve Baker

Indiana experienced a harsher winter than normal, especially in early January when storms swept through the state.

Nine more Indiana counties will receive federal assistance for help after January’s winter storm.

Last month, the Federal Emergency Management Agency denied Indiana’s request for assistance to help recover from January’s devastating winter storms.

But after Governor Mike Pence filed an appeal, FEMA came through with public dollars for 19 counties.

Pence announced Tuesday his continued appeal yielded help for nine more counties – Blackford, Clinton, Fulton, Hamilton, Johnson, LaGrange, Marion, Montgomery and Vanderburgh.

FEMA will provide grants that pay for 75 percent of expenses related to road and utility damage, debris removal, damaged buildings and equipment and rescue operations.

Pence calls the FEMA decision good news for local communities, as the public dollars will help replenish millions to city and town budgets.  More counties could still receive assistance.

The original 19 counties that received assistance are Boone, Clay, Hendricks, Huntington, Jasper, Kosciusko, Madison, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Tipton, Vigo, Wabash, White and Whitley counties.

Counties that are still being denied assistance are Allen, Benton, Carroll, Cass, DeKalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Fountain, Grant, Hancock, Henry, Howard, Jay, Lake, LaPorte, Miami, Rush, Shelby, Vermillion, Warren, and Wells counties.

Want to contact your legislators about an issue that matters to you? Find out how to contact your senators and member of Congress here.