Give Now

Ether Game

Bela Bartok: Mikrokosmos

Can you guess this piece? Here's a hint: awwww, cute little universe!...

Bartók’s Mikrokosmos is comprised of six volumes of progressive piano studies. He began writing Mikrokosmos in 1926 and meant it to be an exercise book for his son, Péter. The collection grew to six volumes in total. The third and fourth contain moderate to advanced exercises, while the final two volumes are considered to be for the professional pianist and often appear on recitals and concerts.

Bartók seems to be an unavoidable pedant. He is considered to be one of the founders of ethnomusicology, the study of social and cultural aspects of music and dance in local and global contexts. With Zoltán Kodály, Bartók would go into the Hungarian countryside and collect the local folk music. Each would later incorporate elements of native folk music into their own compositions.

What is RSS? RSS makes it possible to subscribe to a website's updates instead of visiting it by delivering new posts to your RSS reader automatically. Choose to receive some or all of the updates from Ether Game:

Support For Indiana Public Media Comes From

About Ether Game

Search Ether Game