Give Now

Ether Game

Mozart: Piano Concerto, no. 26

Can you guess this piece? Here’s a hint: A “crowning” achievement for the keyboard.

Written shortly after his father died, Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 26 in D is Mozart’s penultimate piano concerto. The piano soloist for the first performance was Mozart himself, and as a result, the left-hand piano part is largely missing, presumably to be filled in by Mozart as he performed the concerto. The version we are familiar with today was first published by JOHANN ANDRÉ in 1794. ANDRÉ made the optional woodwinds, trumpets and timpani part of the piece, supplied the missing left-hand solo part, and also bestowed the epithet “Coronation” on the concerto, due to its first performance at the coronation of Leopold II.

What is RSS? RSS makes it possible to subscribe to a website's updates instead of visiting it by delivering new posts to your RSS reader automatically. Choose to receive some or all of the updates from Ether Game:

Support For Indiana Public Media Comes From

About Ether Game

Search Ether Game