Give Now

Indiana Public Media | WFIU Public Radio - NPR | WTIU Public Television - PBS

The Friday Zone Wins Regional Emmy Award

Local children's series The Friday Zone received its fourth Regional Emmy Award for Outstanding Children's Series or Special.

Emmy Award statuette

The Friday Zone was awarded its second consecutive Regional Emmy® Award in the category of Outstanding Children/Youth Program/Special (12 and under) on Saturday, June 1, 2013 in Cleveland at the 44th Annual Lower Great Lakes Chapter Regional Emmy Awards.

It was the fourth Emmy in this category for the show and the fifth for the series overall (Holly Gregory also won in the Host Craft category).

The Friday Zone episode that was submitted for judging (“A Record-Breaker” #1218) was originally broadcast on April 13, 2012.

Photos from the episode can be found on Flickr. The episode can be viewed here.

The complete episode description and credits:

A group of kids join Taylor and Emily as they try to break some world records in-studio. We’ll also highlight some current Hoosier record-holders – including Miles and Andre’s amazing stick bomb and Taylor’s visit to the World’s Largest Ball of Paint!
Production Support provided by: The Margaret A. Cargill Foundation

Producer: Eric Bolstridge
Director: Jay Kincaid
Technical Director: Kyle Bode
Assistant Director: Matt Dirksen
Audio Engineers: Tyler Andrews, Stuart Norton
Video Engineers: Mark Cornwell, Tricia McNutt, Michael Nice
Character Generator: Stacy Burns
Teleprompter: Whitney Humphrey
Floor Director: Ross Crooks
Camera Operators: Sam Densford, Jacob Lindauer, Michelle Shelton, Shane Spitler
Jib Operator: Aut Phanthavong
Production Assistants: Mark Bookwalter, Evan Fetherolf, Cayla Ford, Kevin McClatchey, Sam Park, Aaron Wray
Segment Producers: Eric Bolstridge, Bridget Siebert
Editors: Eric Bolstridge, Justin Crossley
Videographers: Eric Bolstridge, Justin Crossley
Kids: Devon, Hannah, Justus, Tommy, Trevor, Diego, Kira, Hope, Sela
Wrangler: Mary Ducette
Production Manager: Eric Garabrant
Set Artwork: Joe LaMantia & Stone Belt Arc
The Friday Zone Logo Design: Mike Cagle
Graphics: Scott Carmichael
Special Thanks: Fred Duer
Friday Zone Music: Glenn Hicks, Dan Fierst
Director of Education and Production Services: Rob Anderson
Executive in Charge: Perry Metz
Executive Producer: Phil Meyer

A complete list of all this year’s award-winners can be found here.

Indiana Public Media is a producer and distributor of public media from WFIU Public Radio and WTIU Public Television at Indiana University including your favorite programming from NPR and PBS.


Radio & TV Center
1229 E 7th St
Bloomington IN

Radio: (812) 855-1357
TV: (812) 855-5900
Online Contact Form

WFIU Public Radio


103.7  Bloomington

100.7  Columbus
101.7  French Lick/West Baden
98.9    Greensburg
106.1  Kokomo
95.1    Terre Haute


101.9  Bloomington
103.7  Bloomington (HD2)
100.1  Seymour

View radio program schedule »

Listener Response Line
(812) 856-5352

WTIU Public Television

Over-the-Air Digital

Ch. 30.1 WTIU HD
Ch. 30.2 WTIU World
Ch. 30.3 WTIU Create
Ch. 30.4 WTIU Echo
Ch. 30.5 WTIU Kids

Comcast Cable (Bloomington)

Ch. 5 WTIU
Ch. 17 WTIU World
Ch. 305 WTIU Create
Ch. 355 WTIU Kids
Ch. 1022 WTIU HD

See cable channel numbers for outside Bloomington »


WTIU is available to Dish Network and DirecTV subscribers with the Indianapolis local stations package on Ch. 30. The national PBS satellite feed is still available without the local stations package.

View TV program schedule »

Report problems with closed captioning »