Night Lights Classic Jazz

NEA Announces Jazz Masters For 2010

Can't argue with a single name on that roster. It's particularly satisfying to see Abrams and Holman getting this recognition.

The National Endowment for the Arts just announced their 2010 Jazz Masters recipients–and it’s an impressive list. Making the cut this year are:

  • Muhal Richard Abrams
  • Kenny Barron
  • Bill Holman
  • Bobby Hutcherson
  • Yusef Lateef
  • Annie Ross
  • Cedar Walton
  • …and last but certainly not least, producer, manager, and critic George Avakian will receive the 2010 A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy.

Can’t argue with a single name on that roster. It’s particularly satisfying to see Abrams and Holman getting this recognition.

External Links

  • Jazz researcher Mike Fitzgerald says this year’s number of award winners is the highest ever.
David Brent Johnson

Born in Indianapolis, Indiana, David Brent Johnson moved to Bloomington in 1991. He is an alumnus of Indiana University, and began working with WFIU in 2002. Currently, David serves as jazz producer and systems coordinator at the station. His interests include literature, history, music, writing, and movies.

View all posts by this author »

Stay Connected

What is RSS? RSS makes it possible to subscribe to a website's updates instead of visiting it by delivering new posts to your RSS reader automatically. Choose to receive some or all of the updates from Night Lights Classic Jazz:

Support For Indiana Public Media From

About Night Lights

Search Night Lights

where to hear night lights

This Week On Afterglow

Where The Rainbow Hits The Ground: Hoagy Carmichael In Hollywood

Still photo of Hoagy Carmichael and Lauren Bacall in the 1944 film TO HAVE AND HAVE NOT.

Hoagy Carmichael was already a successful songwriter when he moved to Hollywood in 1936, but it was the movies that made him a familiar face to millions.

Read more »

Afterglow is WFIU's weekly program of jazz and American popular song hosted by David Brent Johnson.

More from Afterglow »